A Rich Tradition

Over the next few months, I’ll be letting folks know about great small guitar companies that I like. With all the turmoil surrounding places of origin of the big companies’ well-known lines, perhaps a good custom build is just what you  and I need.

There are many luthiers and small guitar companies out there. Many here in the Houston-Austin area and throughout our region. Many throughout the world. Let’s not forget that Fender, Taylor, Collings, PRS and so many other companies started just that way many years ago.

To kick things off in this series, let’s take a  look at Alan Rich Guitars.

Located across Lake Houston, about 30 minutes from my house, luthier Alan Rich produces high quality acoustics and electrics.

Those of you who attend performances by area guitar icon Brian Turner might have wondered about the superb sound of that acoustic he plays. Well, it’s an Alan Rich!

Alan Rich Guitars specializes in custom-built acoustic and electric guitars. Using hand selected Texas Mesquite and other exotic woods from around the world, their guitars are individually handcrafted with only the finest materials and components. By working directly with the player, each guitar is carefully designed, built, and voiced to match the individual’s playing style and technique. Throughout the design and assembly process, Alan places careful consideration on tone, playability, projection, clarity, balance, sustain, and aesthetic beauty.  The final result is a one of a kind instrument that boasts character and craftsmanship. 

Yep. The man makes nice guitars! I have been lucky enough to visit his shop several times when he was doing a build and I could have stayed for days, just watching the process.

Take a look at his website to see samples of his acoustic line. OR, go watch Brian Turner play somewhere and get a closeup look at one in action.

Of course, those of you who know me, know that I am an electric person.

Alan has me covered too.

He makes a wonderful Tele-style guitar utilizing Texas Mesquite as the tonewood.

I want one.

They sound superb and I hope I get to visit his shop soon, as I understand he has a Tele build going on as I write this.

Again, to see samples of Alan’s electrics and acoustics, check out his website at: http://www.alanrichguitars.com/index.html

Afterwards, if you have any questions, or would like to order a guitar, please contact Alan Rich via email at  Alan@AlanRichGuitars.com

Leave a comment