It’s A Classic Vibe….

In spite of the horrid worldwide economic situation, this may be the best time in history to purchase music gear. There are music-store-specific credit cards, layaway plans, great instruments and amps that are very affordable and even places that will give you your gear and then bill your own credit card over three, four or five months….

LOTS of options.

Still, the economy is battered and many folks are understandably reticent to part with their funds.

What’s a guitarist to do?

Think outside the box. Experiment. Try something new.

You all know that I am a Fender-Marshall-Orange person with 41 years of extreme brand loyalty programmed into my brain. BUT, even I am thinking about other brands and options.

For example, the more I learn about Carvin, the more I want a Carvin guitar AND amp. And I would like a Laney amp.

And by God, something I never dreamed I would say: I am considering a Squier.

Specifically, a Squier Classic Vibe Thinline Telecaster in natural wood finish.

Squier Classic Vibe Thinline Telecaster

Squier Classic Vibe Thinline Telecaster in natural finish.

Have I lost my mind? No, not really.

Hear’s why.

1. It’s affordable. About $350.00 in most U.S. retail outlets. Yep, I can afford that.
2. It’s a beauty. Beautiful natural wood finish. Of course, that horrid spooge-fest pearloid pickguard will have to go but that’s an easy and inexpensive fix. And I am sure most of you are OK with pearloid pickguards. That’s just something that personally fills me with inertia.
3. Extremely good word of mouth buzz from folks in the music industry — players, merchants, set-up guys alike. Just about everyone I have talked to has great stuff to say about it. Tadd, Fish and Jim Rod at Texas Music Emporium in Houston, Texas, all had good things to say about it. So did Howie at Andrew’s Music in Porter, Texas. So did Casey at Guitar Center on I-45 North in Houston. So did…you get the drift.
4. Most important…its TONE. This baby comes with Alnico 5s. I have played it a few times around town and watched others play it so I could just listen. Great Telecaster tone. Hot.
5. It’s available. Everybody seems to carry it.

What else do we know?

Well, it’s made by Fender’s Squier subsidiary in China. That doesn’t bother me because Squier is up front about it. They aren’t saying that this beauty is made in Ensenada or Corona. This link should tell you all you want to know about it: http://www.squierguitars.com/products/search.php?partno=0303035521

So, will I get one? Probably. I have considered it ever since it came out but now I am leaning toward it a lot more.

In the meantime, go get Tadd, Jim Rod or Fish at Texas Music Emporium or Howie at Andrew’s to let you play one. Or Casey at Guitar Center. It’s also available via the “Big Three” of online music stores — Sweetwater, American Musical Supply and Zzounds.

Of course, if you play it in person first, you’ll be sure.

Like I am.

For more information on the Squier Classic Vibe Thinline telecaster: http://www.squierguitars.com/products/search.php?partno=0303035521

Texas Music Emporium is located at 132D FM 1960 (near the intersection of I-45 North and FM1960) in Houston, Texas 77073. Their phone is 281-233-0100. Their hours of operation are Monday-Friday: 10 a.m. – 8 p.m., Saturday: 10 a.m.-7 p.m. and Sunday: 1-5 p.m.

For more information about Texas Music Emporium:  http://www.texasmusicemporium.com/

Andrew’s Music is located at 23741 Highway 59 # 7 (near the intersection of U.S. Hwy. 59 North and FM 1314) in Porter, Texas 77365-5393. Their phone is 281-354-0999. Their hours of operation are weekdays 10 a.m.-7:30 p.m. and Saturday from 9 a.m.-6 p.m.

For more information about Andrew’s Music: http://andrewsmusic.net/

Leave a comment